Santa Barbara Local Agency Formation Commission 105 East Anapamu Street ♦ Santa Barbara CA 93101 805/568-3391 ♦ FAX 805/568-2249

www.sblafco.org lafco@sblafco.org

August 7, 2014 (Agenda)

Local Agency Formation Commission 105 East Anapamu Street Santa Barbara CA 93101

### **Consideration of Nominations to the CALAFCO Board of Directors**

Dear Members of the Commission

**RECOMMENDATION** 

It is recommended that the Commission consider nomination(s) to the CALAFCO Board of Directors and Provide Direction to Staff.

#### DISCUSSION

The 2014/15 CALAFCO Nominating Committee has announced that nominations are now open for the fall elections of the CALAFCO Board of Directors. A memo from the Recruitment Committee is attached. The Committee is accepting nominations for the open seats until <u>Monday</u>, <u>September 15, 2014</u>.

For the Commission's information, CALAFCO Public member and Alternate Santa Barbara LAFCO's Public Member, Roger Welt has one year remaining on his term.

Please contact me if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

Paul Hood

PAUL HOOD Executive Officer

**Commissioners: Bob Short, Chair** ♦ Roger Aceves ♦ Doreen Farr ♦ Craig Geyer ♦ Jeff Moorhouse ♦ Bob Orach ♦ Janet Wolf ♦ John Fox ♦ Steve Lavagnino ♦ Jim Richardson ♦ Roger Welt ♦ **Executive Officer:** Paul Hood

# **BUSINESS ITEM NO. 4**

CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSIONS





## 12 June 2014

- To: Local Agency Formation Commission Members and Alternate Members
- From: Elliot Mulberg, Committee Chair Mary Jane Griego, Committee Vice Chair **Board Recruitment Committee** CALAFCO Board of Directors



#### Nominations for 2014/2015 CALAFCO Board of Directors

Nominations are now open for the fall elections of the CALAFCO Board of Directors. Serving on the CALAFCO Board is a unique opportunity to work with other commissioners throughout the state on legislative, fiscal and operational issues that affect us all. The Board meets four to five times each year at alternate sites around the state. Any LAFCo commissioner or alternate commissioner is eligible to run for a Board seat.

CALAFCO's Recruitment Committee is accepting nominations for the following seats on the CALAFCO Board of Directors:

Northern Region	<b>Central Region</b>
City Member	<b>District Member</b>
Public Member	County Member

**Coastal Region District Member** County Member Southern Region **City Member** Public Member

The election will be conducted during regional caucuses at the CALAFCO annual conference prior to the Annual Membership Meeting on Thursday, October 16, 2014 at the DoubleTree by Hilton in Ontario, CA.

Please inform your Commission that the CALAFCO Recruitment Committee is accepting nominations for the above-cited seats until Monday, September 15, 2014.

Incumbents are eligible to run for another term. Nominations received by September 15th will be included in the Recruitment Committee's Report and on the ballot, copies of which will be distributed to LAFCo members October 1 and made available at the Annual Conference. Nominations received after this date will be returned; however, nominations will be permitted from the floor during the Regional Caucuses or during at-large elections, if required, at the Annual Membership Meeting.

For those member LAFCos who cannot send a representative to the Annual Meeting an electronic ballot will be made available if requested in advance. The ballot request must be made no later than Monday, September 15, 2014. Completed absentee ballots must be returned by October 13. If returned by the deadline absentee ballots will be used in the case of a run-off election.

Should your Commission nominate a candidate, the Chair of your Commission must complete the attached Nomination Form and the Candidate's Resume Form, or provide the specified information in another format other than a resume.

# RE:

**BUSINESS ITEM NO. 4** 

1215 K Street, Suite 1650 Sacramento, CA 95814

> Voice 916-442-6536 Fax 916-442-6535

www.calafco.org

Chair MARY JANE GRIEGO Yuba LAFCo

2013-2014 Board of Directors

> Vice Chair IOHN LEOPOLD Santa Cruz LAFCo

Secretary STEPHEN TOMANELLI Riverside LAFCo

> Treasurer GAY JONES Sacramento LAFCo

> > JULIE ALLEN Tulare LAFCo

ROBERT BERGMAN Nevada LAFCo

JAMES CURATALO San Bernardino LAFCo

LARRY R. DUNCAN Butte LAFCo

> **IULIANA INMAN** Napa LAFCo

MICHAEL KELLEY mperial LAFCo

DR. WILLIAM KIRBY Placer LAFCo

MICHAEL R. MCGILL

EUGENE MONTANEZ

THEODORE NOVELLI Amador LAFCo

JOSH SUSMAN Nevada LAFCo

ROGER WELT

PAMELA MILLER e Directo

cutive Office

Deputy Executive Officer

Santa Barbara LAFCo

Staff

MARIORIE BLOM

CLARK ALSOP

STEPHEN LUCAS Deputy Executive Officer

Executive Assistan

Legal Counsel

SAMUEL MARTINEZ

DAVID CHURCH Deputy Executive Officer

JENI TICKLER

**Riverside LAFCo** 

Commissions may also include a letter of recommendation or resolution in support of their nominee. The nomination forms and materials must be received by the CALAFCO Executive Director no later than Monday, September 15, 2014.

Here is a summary of the deadlines for this year's nomination process:

- June 12 Nomination Announcement and packet sent to LAFCo membership and posted on the CALAFCO website.
- September 15 Completed Nomination packet due
- September 15 Request for an absentee/electronic ballot
- October 1 Distribution of the Recruitment Committee Report (includes all completed/submitted nomination papers)
- October 1 Distribution of requested absentee/electronic ballots.
- October 13 Absentee ballots due to CALAFCO
- October 16 Elections

Returning the nomination form prior to the deadline ensures your nominee is placed on the ballot.

Please forward nominations to:

CALAFCO Recruitment Committee c/o Executive Director California Association of Local Agency Formation Commissions 1215 K Street, Suite 1650 Sacramento, California 95814 FAX: 916-442-6535

Electronic filing of nomination forms and materials is encouraged to facilitate the recruitment process. Please send e-mails with forms and materials to info@calafco.org. Alternatively, nomination forms and materials can be mailed or faxed to the above address.

Attached please find a copy of the CALAFCO Board of Directors Nomination and Election Procedures. Members of the 2014/2015 CALAFCO Recruitment Committee are:

Chair – Elliot Mulberg elliot@mulberg.com	Associate Member and former CALAFCO Board member 916-217-8393
Vice Chair- Mary Jane Griego mgriego@calafco.org	Yuba LAFCo (Northern Region) 530-749-7510
Julie Allen jallen@calafco.org	Tulare LAFCo (Central Region) 559-288-9411
Juliana Inman jinman@calafco.org	Napa LAFCo (Coastal Region) 707-226-5304
Michael Kelley mkelley@calafco.org	Imperial LAFCo (Southern Region) 760-482-4308

Former CALAFCO Board Member and Associate Member Elliot Mulberg has agreed to once again assist CALAFCO with the election process. We appreciate and value his expertise. Questions about the election process can be directed to him at elliot@mulberg.com or 916-217-8393.

Please consider joining us! Enclosures

## **BUSINESS ITEM NO. 4**