SANTA BARBARA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION MINUTES OF MEETING

February 2, 2012

Board of Supervisors Hearing Room Santa Maria, CA

- 1. Chair Janet Wolf called the meeting to order at 2:00 p.m.
- 2. Present were Commissioners Alvarez, Farr, Moorhouse, Orach, Schlottmann, Short and Wolf, Alternate Commissioners Fox and Lavagnino, Executive Officer Bob Braitman and Legal Counsel Bill Dillon. Absent were Commissioners Armendariz and Welt.
- 3. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.
- 4. Approval of Minutes

Upon motion by Schlottmann, second by Alvarez, the minutes of the November 3, 2011 meeting were approved as submitted.

Ayes:	Alvarez, Farr, Moorhouse, Orach, Schlottmann, Short, Wolf
Noes:	None
Abstain:	None

5. Selection of Commission Officers – February 2012 to February 2013

Based on established Commission procedures Vice Chair Moorhouse was elevated to the position of Chair. Upon motion by Orach, second by Moorhouse, City Member Lupe Alvarez was selected as Vice-Chair.

Ayes:	Alvarez, Farr, Moorhouse, Orach, Schlottmann, Short, Wolf
Noes:	None
Abstain:	None

6. Public Comment Period

There were no comments from the public.

7. <u>12-1</u> – Out of Agency Service Agreement – Goleta Sanitary District (Jewkes)

After due consideration, upon motion by Wolf, second by Orach, the Commission found the proposal to be categorically exempt and authorized the District to provide sewer service subject to the terms and limitations in the staff report. The Commission directed the resolution be modified to be consistent with the staff report.

Ayes:	Alvarez, Farr, Moorhouse, Orach, Schlottmann, Short, Wolf
Noes:	None
Abstain:	None

- 8. The Commission received the staff report on completion of Municipal Service Reviews and Sphere of Influence Updates and directed the staff to schedule public hearings for the remaining local agencies.
- 9. The Chair directed that the status report on the Santa Ynez River Water Conservation District, Improvement District No. 1 be accepted and continued this matter to a future meeting as deemed appropriate by the Executive Officer.
- 10. Commission Meeting Schedule for 2012

After due consideration, upon motion by Wolf, second by Short, the Commission adopted the meeting schedule for 2012 including cancellation of the October 4 meeting.

Ayes:	Alvarez, Farr, Moorhouse, Orach, Schlottmann, Short, Wolf
Noes:	None
Abstain:	None

11. Financial Statements prepared by Bartlett, Pringle & Wolf LLP for the fiscal years ending June 30, 209 and June 30, 2010

After due consideration, upon motion by Wolf, second by Short, the Commission received and accepted the Financial Statements for the fiscal years ending June 30, 2009 and June 30, 2010.

Ayes:	Alvarez, Farr, Moorhouse, Orach, Schlottmann, Short, Wolf
Noes:	None
Abstain:	None

12. Selection of firm to prepare financial statements for fiscal year ending June 30, 2011

After due consideration, upon motion by Alvarez, second by Wolf, the Commission directed staff to contact the County Auditor Controller and Bartlett Pringle & Wolf as to their availability to conduct future audits.

Ayes:	Alvarez, Farr, Moorhouse, Orach, Schlottmann, Short, Wolf
Noes:	None
Abstain:	None

13. Financial Status Report Regarding LAFCO Budget

The Commission received the second quarter financial status report.

14. Disbursements for November and December, 2011 and January 2012.

Upon motion by Schlottmann, second by Orach, the Commission ratified the disbursements for November and December, 2011 and January 2012.

Ayes:Alvarez, Farr, Moorhouse, Orach, Schlottmann, Short, WolfNoes:NoneAbstain:None

- 15. The El Dorado LAFCO letter to California Forward dated November 18, 2011 was received and filed.
- 16. The Commission received the January 23, 2012 Project and Activity Update. The Chair directed that such reports for months when the Commission does not meet be included in the packet for the following meeting.
- 17. Special District Selection Committee

The Executive Officer announced that the Special District Selection Committee met on January 23 and elected Craig Geyer to the Regular Special District member and reelected John Fox as Alternate Special District member.

18. Commissioner Announcements

Chair Moorhouse presented outgoing Commissioner Schlottmann a plaque expressing appreciation for her eight years of service on the Commission. Individual commissioners also expressed their appreciation for her service and dedication to LAFCO locally and also as a member of the CALAFCO Board of Directors.

19. Staff Announcements

The Commission Clerk informed the Commissioners that FPPC 700 forms should be completed and returned to the LAFCO office not later than March 15.

20. The meeting was adjourned at 3:15 PM.

SANTA BARBARA LAFCO Minutes of Meeting February 2, 2012 Page 4

Final Minutes Approved by the Commission on March 1, 2012

By_____

Jeff Moorhouse, Chair