LAFCO MEMORANDUM

SANTA BARBARA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION 105 East Anapamu Street • Santa Barbara CA 93101 • (805) 568-3391 • Fax (805) 568-2249

February 6, 2020

TO:	Each Member	of the	Commission

FROM: Paul Hood **PLH** Executive Officer

SUBJECT: Report on City and Special District Appointments/Elections

This is an Informational Report. No Action is Necessary

DISCUSSION

As mentioned at the January 9, 2020 meeting, several Commissioner's terms expire on March 1, 2020. The terms of Regular Special District member Craig Geyer, and Alternate Special District member Cynthia Allen, will expire on March 1, 2020.

Staff will be sending out nomination forms to each Independent Special District. This will be followed by a mailed -ballot election. Both Regular Commissioner Geyer and Alternate Special District Allen are interested in being re-elected.

In addition, the terms of Regular City member Roger Aceves and Alternate City Member Holly Sierra's terms expire on March 1, 2020. Both are interested in being reappointed.

Staff has requested that the Clerk to the Board of Supervisors call a meeting of the City Selection Committee to make the appointments. The City Selection Committee, comprised on the mayors or their designees, makes the City member appointments to the Commission. City Council members meet on a regular basis because they also serve on the Santa Barbara Council of Governments (SBCAG), and the Santa Barbara County Air Pollution Control District (APCD).

Staff will keep the Commission apprised of the progress of the Pending Commissioner Elections/Appointments.

Please contact the LAFCO office if you have any questions.