

Santa Barbara Local Agency Formation Commission 105 East Anapamu Street ♦ Santa Barbara CA 93101 805/568-3391 ♦ FAX 805/647-7647 www.sblafco.org ♦ lafco@sblafco.org

August 6, 2020(Agenda)

Honorable Commissioners

CALAFCO has made two recent important announcements. First, due to COVID-19, CALAFCO has announced the cancellation of the Annual Conference that was scheduled for October in Monterey. CALAFCO is looking into options for holding a virtual event of "some kind."

As a result of the cancellation of the Annual Conference, CALAFCO has also announced that the Board of Directors' 2020 Elections will be held by email ballot. Additional plans are in the works for holding the annual business meeting.

Please contact the LAFCO office if you have any questions.

Sincerely, lian M. Dille

William Dillon Interim Executive Officer

Commissioners: Craig Geyer, Chair ♦ Roger Aceves ♦ Cynthia Allen ♦ Jay Freeman ♦ Joan Hartmann ♦ Steve Lavagnino Holly Sierra ♦ Shane Stark ♦ Etta Waterfield, Vice-Chair ♦ Roger Welt ♦ Das Wiilliams ♦ **Executive Officer: William Dillon**



July 7, 2020

Dear CALAFCO Membership:

We continue to live in unprecedented times, dealing with the myriad of disruptive changes thrust upon us and our agencies. All of us continue to learn how to best navigate the path forward, both individually and collectively, with resilience and courage.

With the ongoing pandemic and the dialing back by many counties on re-opening, and the significant budget cuts looming for all local government agencies, careful consideration is being given to every decision organizations are making today. The same is true for CALAFCO and our Annual Conference.

Taking all of that into consideration with respect to the October Annual Conference, the CALAFCO Board of Directors and Executive Director believe CALAFCO has an ethical and corporate responsibility to our members, speakers, guests, their families and our collective communities. This responsibility includes mitigating as much as possible the spread of the virus and being responsible in our decisions to aid in the containment and protect the health and safety of our members. Given the fluidity of the situation, there are still no state guidelines as to larger gathering events and it is not likely they can be done safely anytime soon.

After careful thought and consideration, CALAFCO has decided to cancel this year's in-person Annual Conference which was scheduled for October 21-23 in Monterey.

So, what's next?

- Staff is researching options for a virtual event of some kind and will report to the Board of Directors during the July 24 meeting what options are reasonable and available. At this time, we do not know what that may look like, but we are hopeful by the end of the month we will know whether there will a virtual event. As soon as there is information, you will be advised.
- CALAFCO staff may reach out to your LAFCo staff and commissioners and request feedback via a Survey Monkey survey. Your feedback will be critical so please respond if asked.
- > CALAFCO is working with the Monterey Hyatt to re-book the Conference in 2023.
- The Board of Directors 2020 elections will be held by email ballot. Please watch for an update from the Elections Committee coming this week.
- We are researching options for holding the Annual Business Meeting and will advise you when that decision has been made.

If you have suggestions or questions, please let Executive Director Pamela Miller know. You can reach her at pmiller@calafco.org.

On behalf of the Board, we thank you for the leadership and the integrity you demonstrate as local government leaders every day, and especially in difficult times such as these.

Yours sincerely,

Mike McGill Chair of the Board

CC: CALAFCO Board of Directors

2. O. DMul

Pamela Miller Executive Director

CALAFCO Board Members 2019-20 (as of June 19, 2020)		
Board Member Name	LAFCo - Region	Type (Term Expires)
Cheryl Brothers	Orange - Southern	City (2020)
Bill Connelly - Treasurer	Butte - Northern	County (2021)
David Couch	Humboldt - Northern	District (2021)
Shiva Frentzen	El Dorado - <i>Central</i>	County (2020)
Blake Inscore	Del Norte - Northern	City (2020)
Gay Jones	Sacramento - Central	District (2020)
Michael Kelley – Vice Chair	Imperial - Southern	County (2021)
Michael McGill - Chair	Contra Costa - <i>Coastal</i>	District (2020)
Jo MacKenzie	San Diego - <i>Southern</i>	District (2021)
Margie Mohler	Napa - Coastal	City (2021)
Tom Murray	San Luis Obispo - <i>Coastal</i>	Public (2021)
Anita Paque - Secretary	Calaveras - Central	Public (2021)
Jane Parker	Monterey - Coastal	County (2020)
Daniel Parra	Fresno - <i>Central</i>	City (2021)
Josh Susman	Nevada - <i>Northern</i>	Public (2020)
David West	Imperial - <i>Southern</i>	Public (2020)