LAFCO

Santa Barbara Local Agency Formation Commission

105 East Anapamu Street ◆ Santa Barbara CA 93101 805/568-3391 ◆ FAX 805/647-7647 www.sblafco.org ◆ lafco@sblafco.org

February 7, 2013 (Agenda)

Local Agency Formation Commission 105 East Anapamu Street Santa Barbara CA 93101

Selection of Commission Officers – February 2013 to February 2014

Dear Members of the Commission:

RECOMMENDATION

It is recommended that a City Member of the Commission be selected as Chair and the Public Member be selected to serve as Vice-Chair from February 2013 to February 2014.

DISCUSSION

The Commission's Rules and Procedures provide the following policy for selecting officers:

<u>Selection of Officers</u> -- The members of the Commission shall elect a Chair and Vice Chair at the first meeting of the Commission held in February of each year or as soon thereafter as practicable.

The Chair and Vice Chair shall serve for one-year terms, with the Vice Chair automatically assuming the Chair at the end of the term. Officers shall be selected from the categories of members in the following order: Public, County, Special District and City.

About a year ago the Commission appointed Special District Member Jeff Moorhouse as Chair and City Member Lupe Alvarez as Vice Chair to serve until February 2013. Commissioner Alvarez is not longer a Commissioner since he is no longer on the Guadalupe City Council.

Therefore a City Member, either Roger Aceves or Bob Orach, should be selected as Chair and Public Member Bob Short as Vice Chair to serve from February 2013 to February 2014.

Sincerely,

BOB BRAITMAN Executive Officer