# LAFCO MEMORANDUM

SANTA BARBARA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

105 East Anapamu Street • Santa Barbara CA 93101 • (805) 568-3391 + Fax (805) 568-2249

March 7, 2024 (Agenda)

TO: Each Member of the Commission

FROM: Mike Prater Executive Officer

### SUBJECT: Report on Special District Commissioner Election Results

This is an Informational Report. No Action is Necessary

### DISCUSSION

The 30-day voting period for the election of Regular Special District Member between three candidates', ended on February 19, 2024 at 5:00 pm.

There was a total of 31 eligible independent special districts that filed ballots before the deadline expired. The February 20, 2024, Notice of Election Results to Special Districts is attached as **Attachment A.** Votes cast by Special District is attached as **Attachment B.** 

The results are as follows:

Craig Geyer, Goleta West Sanitary District	25 Votes
Dorinne Johnson, Montecito Sanitary District	5 Votes
Jorge Magana, Mission Hills Community Services District	1 Vote

By virtue of receiving the majority of the votes cast, Mr. Geyer was elected as a Regular Special District member of the Commission with a term to expire on March 1, 2028. Pursuant to Government Code section 56332(c)(2), "[at] the end of the nomination period, only one candidate was nominated for the vacant Alternate Special District seat, therefore that candidate shall be deemed appointed" to the Commission. Mr. Jorge Magana is appointed as the Alternate Special District member of the Commission with a term to expire on March 1, 2028.

## **Attachments**

Attachment A – February 20, 2024 Notice of Election Results Attachment B – Ballot Breakdown by Special District

 $Please\ contact\ the\ LAFCO\ office\ if\ you\ have\ any\ questions.$ 

# LAFCO

### Santa Barbara Local Agency Formation Commission 105 East Anapamu Street ◆ Santa Barbara CA 93101 805/568-3391 ◆ FAX 805/568-2249 www.sblafco.org ◆ lafco@sblafco.org

February 20, 2024

TO: Santa Barbara County Independent Special DistritsSubject: Notice of Results for the Regular and Alternate Special District Member Nomination

The deadline for filing election ballots for the Regular Special District Members to Santa Barbara LAFCO ended at 5 :00 PM on Monday, February 19, 2024. There was a total of 31 eligible Independent Special Districts that filed ballots by the deadline. One Nomination was received for the Alternate Member seat of the Independent Special Districts Members that filed Nominations by the deadline. Pursuant to Government Code section 56332(c)(2), "[at] the end of the nomination period, if only one candidate was nominated for a vacant seat, that candidate shall be deemed appointed" to the Commission.

The results of the mailed ballot elections are attached in Attachment A.

The results are as follows:

LAFCO Regular Special District Member Votes (31 Votes Total):				
25 Votes	Craig Geyer, Goleta West Sanitary District			
5 Votes	Dorinne Lee Johnson, Montecito Sanitary District			
1 Votes	Jorge Magana, Mission Hills Community Services District			

LAFCO Alternate Special District Member Nomination (1 Form Received 1/3/24): **Presiding Officer** Steve Dietrich, Mission Hills Community Services District

By virtue of receiving the majority of the votes cast, Mr. Geyer was elected as a Regular Special District Member of the Commission with a term to expire on March 1, 2028. By virtue of receiving only one nomination Mr. Magana is deemed appointed as the Alternate Special District Member of the Commission with a term to expire on March 1, 2028.

Please contact the LAFCO office if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

MAP+-

Mike Prater Executive Officer

Cc: LAFCO Commissioners

### Delegates, Nominations & Votes for LAFCO Special Member Voting Period Called For by mailed Ballot ends February 19, 2024

No	Special District	Voted for:	Date
1	CACHUMA RESOURCE CONSERVATION	Craig Geyer	1/17/24
2	CARPINTERIA CEMETERY	Craig Geyer	1/26/24
3	CARPINTERIA SANITARY	Craig Geyer	1/26/24
4	CARPINTERA/SUMMERLAND FIRE	Craig Geyer	2/5/24
5	PROTECTION CARPINTERIA VALLEY WATER	Crain Cavar	2/15/24
5 6	-	Craig Geyer	2/15/24
6	CUYAMA COMMUNITY SERVICES	Dorinne Lee Johnson	2/15/24
7	EMBARCADERO MUNICIPAL IMPROVEMENT	Craig Geyer	1/30/24
8	GOLETA CEMETERY	Craig Geyer	1/29/24
9	GOLETA SANITARY	Craig Geyer	2/7/24
10	GOLETA WATER	Craig Geyer	1/5/24
11	GOLETA WEST SANITARY	Craig Geyer	1/11/24
12	ISLA VISTA COMMUNITY SERVICES	Craig Geyer	2/16/24
13	ISLA VISTA RECREATION AND PARK	Craig Geyer	1/31/24
14	LOMPOC CEMETERY	Craig Geyer	1/24/24
15	LOMPOC HEALTH CARE	Craig Geyer	1/26/24
16	LOS ALAMOS COMMUNITY SERVICES	Craig Geyer	1/31/24
17	LOS OLIVOS COMMUNITY SERVICES	Craig Geyer	2/1/24
18	MISSION HILLS COMMUNITY SERVICES	Jorge Magana	1/5/24
19	MONTECITO FIRE PROTECTION	Craig Geyer	1/23/24
20	MONTECITO SANITARY	Dorinne Lee	1/12/24
20		Johnson	1/12/24
21	MONTECITO WATER	Dorinne Lee	1/24/24
		Johnson	0/4/04
22	MOSQUITO AND VECTOR MANAGEMENT	Craig Geyer	2/1/24
23	SAN ANTONIO BASIN WATER	Dorinne Lee	1/16/24
0.4		Johnson	0/4/04
24	SANTA BARBARA METRO TRANSIT	Craig Geyer	2/1/24
25	SANTA MARIA PUBLIC AIRPORT	Craig Geyer	1/26/24
26	SANTA MARIA CEMETERY	Craig Geyer	2/14/24
27	SANTA MARIA VALLEY WATER CONSERVATION	Craig Geyer	2/16/24
28	SANTA YNEZ COMMUNITY SERVICES	Craig Geyer	1/31/24
29	SANTA YNEZ RIVER WATER CONSERVATION	Craig Geyer	2/1/24
30	SUMMERLAND SANITARY	Dorinne Lee	2/1/24
		Johnson	
31	VANDENBERG VILLAGE COMMUNITY	Craig Geyer	2/7/24
	SERVICES		

### **Total Number of Nominations Returned**

# Nominations Returned
1 Craig Geyer – Goleta West Sanitary District (REG)
2 Steve Dietrich – Mission Hills CSD (REG & ALT)
1 Woody Barrett – Montecito Sanitary District (REG)

#### Number of Votes for Each Nominee

Mailed Ballot Called for Ballots Due Feb 19, 2024 #31 Total Ballots cast #25 Ballots for Nom #1 (Geyer) #1 Ballots for Nom #2 (Magana) #5 Ballots for Nom #3 (Johnson) Invalid or Late Ballots after 5pm # Total Ballots ineligible