Santa Barbara Local Agency Formation Commission 105 East Anapamu Street ♦ Santa Barbara CA 93101 805/568-3391 ♦ FAX 805/568-2249 www.sblafco.org ♦ lafco@sblafco.org

June 2, 2016 (Agenda)

Local Agency Formation Commission 105 East Anapamu Street, Room 407 Santa Barbara CA 93101

Governance Options for the Santa Rita Hills Community Services District (SRHCSD)

Honorable Commissioners:

RECOMMENDATION

It is recommended that the Commission provide direction to staff.

DISCUSSION

The Commission at the May 5, 2016 meeting, staff identified a number of options to either dissolve the Santa Rita Hills Community Services District or explore other governance options for this inactive district. The SRHCSD has been inactive for some time because it lacks a quorum to make decisions and adopt a budget to pay bills. Staff was directed to meet with the County Executive Office to determine if the Santa Barbara Board of Supervisors could in effect be appointed as the Board of Directors of the district.

Staff and Legal Counsel reviewed the pertinent statutes concerning whether the Board of Supervisors may step in as the governing board of the SRHCSD. It was determined that the only instance when a board of supervisors may serve as a governing board of a CSD is contained in Government Code Section 61022, which allows LAFCO to provide, as a term and condition of formation of a CSD, that the "county board of supervisors may be <u>the initial board</u> of directors until conversion to an elected board of directors." (emphasis added.) Since the Santa Rita Hills CSD elected their board some time ago, this option has long passed.

The only process that may involve the Board of Supervisors is that when the membership of the CSD board falls below a quorum, then upon request from a remaining CSD district board member or the CSD's secretary, the board of supervisors may appoint a person(s) to fill a vacancy on the CSD board or may call an election (Government Code Section1780(h)(1). Any appointments by the supervisors shall only be enough to provide the CSD board with a quorum (Gov. Code sec. 1780(h)(2).) This appointment process does not involve LAFCO. It may be pursued by a CSD board member or secretary through a request to the County.

Commissioners: Craig Geyer, Chair ◆ Roger Aceves ◆ Doreen Farr ◆ Jeff Moorhouse ◆ Bob Orach ◆ Janet Wolf Judith Ishkanian ◆ Steve Lavagnino ◆ Jim Richardson ◆ Shane Stark ◆ Roger Welt ◆ **Executive Officer:** Paul Hood Local Agency Formation Commission June 2, 2016 (Agenda) Page 2

Please contact the LAFCO office if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

-Paul Hood

PAUL HOOD Executive Officer