LAFCO MEMORANDUM

SANTA BARBARA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION
105 East Anapamu Street • Santa Barbara CA 93101 • (805) 568-3391 • Fax (805) 568-2249

June 7, 2018

TO:

Each Member of the Commission

FROM:

Paul Hood PLH

Executive Officer

SUBJECT:

Report on the Mailed Ballot Election for the LAFCO Alternate Special District

Member and the Selection of a Special District Member to Serve on the

Redevelopment Agency Oversight Board.

This is an Informational Report. No Action is Necessary

DISCUSSION

Since the March 26, 2018, meeting of the Independent Special District Selection Committee failed to achieve a quorum of its members. Therefore, as the LAFCO Executive Officer, I determined that another meeting of the committee is not feasible and that the business of the committee will be conducted by mail.

The attached notice (Exhibit A) was mailed to every Independent Special District in Santa Barbara County with the following forms: (1) LAFCO Alternate Commission Member nomination form; and (2) The Countywide Redevelopment Agency (RDA) Oversight Board Member Ballot.

The deadline for the forms to be returned to the SBLAFCO office was 5:00 pm, May 25, 2018.

The results are as follows:

LAFCO Alternate Special District Member Nominations:

- 4 Nominations for David Seymour-Santa Ynez Community Services District
- 1 Nomination for Ethan Bertrand-Isla Vista Community Services District

Countywide RDA Oversight Board Election (3 Nominees):

- 21 Votes Total:
- 18 Craig Geyer-Goleta West Sanitary District
- 3 Cynthia Allen-Santa Ynez River Water Conservation District
- 0 David Baskett Santa Maria Public Airport District

Next Steps:

Ballots for the election of the LAFCO Alternate Special District member will be mailed all Santa Barbara County Independent Special Districts with two nominees: David Seymour and Ethan Bertrand.

By virtue of receiving the most votes, Craig Geyer is deemed the independent special district representative to the Countywide RDA Oversight Board. It should be noted that the election required that a quorum (majority) of the 38 (20) independent special district vote in the election.

Exhibits:

Exhibit A Call for Nominations for the SBLAFCO Alternate Special District Member and Selection of a Special District Member on the Countywide Redevelopment Agency Oversight Board

Please contact the LAFCO office if you have any questions.



Santa Barbara Local Agency Formation Commission
105 East Anapamu Street ◆ Santa Barbara CA 93101
805/568-3391 ◆ FAX 805/568-2249
www.sblafco.org ◆ lafco@sblafco.org

April 19, 2018

TO:

Presiding Officers of Independent Special Districts

Subject:

Nominations for Alternate Special District Member to Santa Barbara LAFCO

and Selection of the Special District Member to Serve on the Countywide RDA

Oversight Board

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS FOR THE LAFCO ALTERNATE SPECIAL DISTRICT MEMBER AND SELECTION OF AN INDEPENDENT SPECIAL DISTRICT DIECTOR TO SERVE ON THE COUNTYWIDE REDEVELOPMENT AGENCY (RDA) OVERSIGHT BOARD

Since the March 26, 2018, meeting of the Independent Special District Selection Committee failed to achieve a quorum of its members, the LAFCO Executive Officer has determined that another meeting of the committee is not feasible and shall conduct the business of the committee by mail. There are two matters to be decided:

- 1) Nominations for the LAFCO Alternate Special District Member. Since Alternate Special District Member Judith Ishkanian was the only nominee for the vacant Regular Special District seat, she was deemed appointed pursuant to Government Code Section 56332 (f)(2). Therefore, the Alternate Special District Member is now vacant, because of the lack of a quorum, there were no nominations from the floor. The term ends on March 1, 2020. Nomination forms are attached.
- 2) Selection of an Independent Special District Director to Serve on the Countywide RDA Oversight Board. There were three nominations to the Countywide RDA Oversight Board before the nomination period ended. Nominees are as follows:

Cynthia Allen – Santa Ynez River Water Conservation District David Baskett – Santa Maria Public Airport District Craig Geyer – Goleta West Sanitary District

<u>The Official Ballot, Individual Nomination Forms, and Candidate Statements are attached.</u>

Local Agency Formation Commission February 8, 2018 Page two

<u>Call for Nominations for the LAFCO Alternate Special District Member and Selection of the Independent Special District Director to Serve on the Countywide RDA Oversight Board.</u>

Nominations for the Alternate Special District member and the Selection of the RDA Oversight Board member should be submitted to the LAFCO Executive Officer, at the above address, faxed, or emailed <u>no later than 5:00 pm</u>, May 25, 2018.

Who Can Vote: The Presiding Officer of each Independent Special District is authorized to vote for the Alternate Special District members on LAFCO and the RDA Oversight Board member. The legislative body of the district shall authorize the presiding officer to sign the nomination form and the official ballot. There is one vote per district. Members representing a majority of the eligible districts shall constitute a quorum, which is necessary for the selection committee to conduct this business.

Please contact the LAFCO office if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

PAUL HOOD Executive Officer