LAFCO MEMORANDUM

SANTA BARBARA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

105 East Anapamu Street • Santa Barbara CA 93101 • (805) 568-3391 + Fax (805) 568-2249

November 2, 2023 (Agenda)

TO: Each Member of the Commission

FROM: Mike Prater Executive Officer

SUBJECT: Report on Pending Commissioner Elections/Appointments

This is an Informational Report. No Action is Necessary

DISCUSSION

The term of Regular Special District member Craig Geyer, a director on the Goleta West Sanitary District and Alternate Special District Member Cynitha Allen, a director on the Santa Ynez River Water Conservation District will expire on March 1, 2024. Commissioners can continue to serve until they are re-elected or someone else is elected.

Staff will be working with the Independent Special District Selection Committee sending out nomination forms to each Independent Special District. The CSDA Chapter agreed to hold all elections by email/mailed-ballot election process. Regular and Alternate Commissioners Geyer and Allen may be interested in being re-elected. GC Section 56332(c)(2) indicates that if only one nominee is submitted during the nomination period, then that nominee shall be deemed appointed to the Commission.

In the past, because there were 21 independent Special Districts votes, assembling a quorum (20) of the special districts for a meeting of the Special District Selection Committee, has proved to be problematic. Therefore, the Executive Officer may provide a notice of a 30–60-day nomination period followed by a mailed ballot election as the agreed upon option. A notice will be issued on November 3, 2023 for nominations to be received by January 4, 2024.

In addition, to the Special Districts, the terms of one Regular and one Alternate City Member expire on March 1, 2024. Lompoc Mayor Jenelle Osborne and Goleta Councilman James Kyriaco's term expire. Both will serve until they are re-elected or replaced. The City Selection Committee, comprised of the Mayors or their designees, makes the City member appointments to the Commission. City Council members meet on a regular basis because they also serve on the Santa Barbara Council of Governments (SBCAG), and the Santa Barbara County Air Pollution Control District (APCD).

Staff will keep the Commission apprised of the progress of the Pending Commissioner Elections/Appointments.

Please contact the LAFCO office if you have any questions.