## SANTA BARBARA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION MINUTES OF MEETING

### November 1, 2012

# Board of Supervisors Hearing Room Santa Barbara, CA

- 1. Chair Jeff Moorhouse called the meeting to order at 2:00 p.m.
- 2. Present were Commissioners Alvarez, Farr, Geyer, Moorhouse, Orach, Short and Wolf, Alternate Commissioners Aceves, Fox, Lavagnino and Welt, Executive Officer Bob Braitman and Legal Counsel Bill Dillon.
- 3. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.
- 4. Approval of Minutes

Upon motion by Wolf, second by Short, the minutes of the September 6, 2012 meeting were approved as submitted.

Ayes:Alvarez, Farr, Orach, Short, WolfNoes:Geyer, MoorhouseAbstain:None

- 5. There were no Public Comments.
- 6. 12-4 Cieneguitas Reorganization: Annexation to the City of Santa Barbara/ Detachment from the Goleta Water District/ Detachment from the Goleta Sanitary District/ Detachment from the Santa Barbara County Fire Protection District/ Detachment from County Service Area No. 3/ Detachment from County Service Area No. 32

Commissioner Orach recused himself from this matter since he has received a campaign contribution is excess of the allowable amount from one of the participants in this proceeding. Alternate Commissioner Aceves served as a voting member for this item.

Testimony was provided by Allison DeBusk representing the City of Santa Barbara and landowners Michael Towbes and Delbert Britschgi.

Received in the record was correspondence from Michael Rittenberg DVM (October 25, 2012), Delbert Britschgi (October 29, 2012), Allison DeBusk (October 31, 2012) and Rosanne Reid (November 1, 2012).

After due consideration, upon motion by Wolf, second by Short, the Commission certified it had reviewed and considered the information contained in the Negative Declaration, approved the proposal conditioned upon the territory being liable for existing bonded indebtedness and authorized taxes of the City and exempt from liability of taxes for indebtedness of the detaching agencies, found the subject territory is uninhabited, all affected landowners have given written consent and the annexing agency has given written consent to waive conducting authority proceedings, and directed the staff to complete the proceeding.

Ayes:	Aceves, Alvarez, Farr, Geyer, Moorhouse, Short, Wolf
Noes:	None
Abstain:	None

- 7. Commissioner Orach returned to the meeting as a voting member.
- 8. 12-6 Palmer Annexation to the Goleta Sanitary District

Testimony was provided by property developer Jeff Nelson.

After due consideration, upon motion by Wolf, second by Orach, the Commission certified it had reviewed and considered the information contained in the Mitigated Negative Declaration, approved the proposal subject to the condition the territory shall be liable for any existing or authorized taxes, charges, fees or assessments comparable to properties presently within the District, found the proposal to be uninhabited, all affected landowners have given written consent and the annexing agency has consented to waive conducting authority proceedings and directed the staff to complete the proceeding.

Ayes:	Alvarez, Farr, Geyer, Moorhouse, Orach, Short, Wolf
Noes:	None
Abstain:	None

9. Sphere of Influence Update for the Carpinteria Sanitary District

The Executive Officer informed the Commission that after the packet for the meeting had been distributed he had received an application from the District to expand its sphere of influence. He recommended this matter be continued for six months to allow the staff to analyze the request including consultation with relevant governmental agencies.

Testimony was provided by Craig Murray representing the Carpinteria Sanitary District.

After due consideration, upon motion by Geyer, second by Farr, the Commission continued this matter for six months.

Ayes:	Aceves, Farr, Geyer, Moorhouse, Orach, Short, Wolf
Noes:	None
Abstain:	None

### 10. Policy on Per Diem Stipends and Travel Expense Reimbursement

There was no public comment.

Commissioner Alvarez moved, and Commissioner Geyer seconded, approval of the policy change recommended by the ad hoc committee with additional wording that staff would not be reimbursed for workshops or training oriented primarily to Commissioners.

Upon further consideration Commissioner Alvarez withdrew the first motion and moved approval of the policy change as recommended by the ad hoc committee. Commission Geyer seconded the motion.

Ayes:	Aceves, Farr, Geyer, Moorhouse, Orach, Short, Wolf
Noes:	None
Abstain:	None

- 11. The Commission received a status report from Commissioner Geyer, a member of the Subcommittee on Transition Planning for LAFCO staffing services.
- 12. Procedure to Complete Guadalupe Annexation No. 2

Legal Counsel asked this matter be continued. The staff report was received and filed.

13. Disbursements for September and October 2012

There was no public comment.

Upon motion by Orach second by Alvarez, the Commission ratified the disbursements for September and October, 2012.

Ayes:	Aceves, Farr, Geyer, Moorhouse, Orach, Short, Wolf
Noes:	None
Abstain:	None

14. Request for Future Agenda Items

Commissioner Farr requested that plans for the strategic planning session be placed on the agenda for the December meeting.

### 15. Report on 2012 CALAFCO Annual Conference

The Commission received the Executive Officer's report on the 2012 CALAFCO Conference. Other reports were provided by Commissioners Aceves, Farr and Geyer.

- 16. The Commission received the Staff Project and Meeting Updates.
- 17. Staff announced that due to ongoing renovations of the North County Hearing Room, LAFCO meetings in 2013 are currently planned to be held in Santa Barbara, although the County will have a facility for remote testimony from Santa Maria.
- 18. The Commission recessed at 4:15 PM to a closed session for a Performance Evaluation of the Executive Officer.

The public meeting resumed at 4:55 PM. Chair announced that the Commission had taken no reportable action in the closed session.

19. The meeting was adjourned at 4:55 PM.

Final Minutes Approved by the Commission on December 6, 2012

By\_\_\_

Jeff Moorhouse, Chair