Skip to main content

Election and Appointment Procedures

The Santa Barbara LAFCO is composed of:

•Two City Council Members (selected by the cities in the County during City Selection Committee meeting),
•Two County Supervisors (selected by the Board of Supervisors),
•Two Special District Members (selected by the independent special districts in the County following a nomination and mailed ballot process),
•One public member (selected by the other six Commissioners, after notice of vacancy is published).

Alternate members – one in each category – are appointed to vote whenever a regular member in that category is absent or disqualified from participating.

All members are appointed to serve four-year terms


The Commissioner Handbook describes in greater details the procedures for election and appointment..

Join our mailing list